Go Back   CJ Wildlife Online Forums > CJ Wildife Forums > Bird Food, Bird Feeders, Bird Tables & Bird Baths

Bird Food, Bird Feeders, Bird Tables & Bird Baths Questions, Answers & General Discussion on Bird food, Feeders, tables & bird baths

Old 19th April 2006, 12:54 PM   #1
nickieuk

Question window feeder

Hi guys, im new to bird feeding and recently bought a window feeder as i dont have a garden. I was just wondering if there was any way i could attract the birds to it, do they smell out the food? I was also a bit worried in case they accidently flew into the window by mistake and hurt themselves, has anyone got any tips on how to avoid this?

Thanks,
nickieuk is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 01:10 PM   #2
Shamal

Hi Nic,
Birds are mainly visual as far as food goes, but don't worry as I'm sure they will spot your offerings in due course. I would suspect Blue Tits will be your first customers as they hunt on buildings for spiders and insects.

Birds tend to fly into windows when in a panic, I wouldn't worry to much about this for the time being. The chances are that this will not happen because you have put food on the window. Net curtains, if you can bear them would remove the likelyhood of any collisions.

I've used the tray type window feeders and the tube seed feeder with the suckers on, both are great but keep a regular eye on them to make sure the seed is dry and not going mouldy in the tray type as rain will drive into it.
Shamal is offline     Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2006, 02:09 PM   #3
nickieuk

thank you very much for your help shamal
i'll be on the look out for blue tits
Old 19th April 2006, 03:31 PM   #4
Bebe

Default window feeders

Hi Nicki